Georgia Lemon Law: Steps to Follow
|This information is provided for new motor vehicles purchased, leased or registered in Georgia on or after January 1, 2009.|
Can I proceed with a Lemon Law complaint? Complete this checklist to see if the Lemon Law applies to you:
|I am eligible as a consumer as defined in the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs).||Yes||No|
|My new motor vehicle is eligible (as defined in the FAQs).||Yes||No|
|I purchased, leased or registered my vehicle in the State of Georgia.||Yes||No|
|I submitted my vehicle to the manufacturer's authorized dealer for repair of the particular defect or condition within the first 24 months of ownership or 24,000 miles of my use of the vehicle, whichever occurred first.||Yes||No|
|If you answered "Yes" to ALL four questions, you may continue. If you answered "No" to any question, you are not eligible to proceed under the Lemon Law.|
Once you have read the FAQs and you have answered "Yes" to ALL of the above questions, you are ready to begin the Lemon Law Process at Step 1. Please read each step very carefully and complete it before you proceed to the next step.
The Lemon Law Process
- Step 1. Reasonable Number of Repair Attempts
- Step 2. Final Repair Attempt (if applicable)
- Step 3. Request for Repurchase or Replacement
- Step 4. Certified Informal Dispute Settlement Program (if applicable)
- Step 5. State-Operated Arbitration
If your problem appears to be corrected but resurfaces later, in most cases you will not have to start the process over from the beginning. You may resume your complaint at the appropriate step.
If you have any questions after reading the instructions, or if you have a specific situation not described in this summary, feel free to call the Georgia Department of Law's Consumer Protection Unit at 404-651-9397. However, please understand that we cannot give you legal advice or act as your private attorney.