GEORGIA LEMON LAW NOTICE FOR REACQUIRED VEHICLES

(For vehicles reacquired on or after January 1, 2009 - See reverse side for Notice completion and compliance instructions)

PART I: TO BE COMPLETED BY THE MANUFACTURER FOLLOWING REACOUISITION OF THE VEHICLE Vehicle Make: Model: Year: Current Mileage: VIN:/ / / / / / / / / / / / / Date of Vehicle Reacquisition: Previous Title #: ______ State: ______ Name of Original Consumer: ______ Address of Original Consumer: This vehicle was reacquired by the manufacturer from the original consumer as a result of: Part I-A Check one category and one box within that category for a reacquired vehicle covered under Georgia's Lemon Law: A voluntary agreement entered into between the consumer and the \Box manufacturer (or \Box dealer with the manufacturer's assistance) prior to filing for arbitration or bringing a legal action in Georgia. A \Box settlement reached through or a \Box decision rendered by: (Name of Informal Dispute Settlement Mechanism [IDSM] for Georgia) A \Box settlement reached through or a \Box decision rendered by the Georgia New Motor Vehicle Arbitration Panel. A \Box settlement reached through or a \Box decision rendered by a Georgia Court. Part I-B Check this category and applicable box only if vehicle was reacquired under a similar statute of another state and was transferred into Georgia: A voluntary agreement entered into without arbitration or a legal action, or a settlement reached through or a decision , under a similar statute of the state of: rendered by: Name of IDSM/Arbitration Program/Court This vehicle was reacquired because it was alleged or determined to have one or more of the following nonconformities: Name and Title of Manufacturer's Representative (print) Signature of Manufacturer's Representative Date PART II: TO BE COMPLETED BY THE MANUFACTURER UPON TRANSFER OF THE VEHICLE This vehicle was transferred by the manufacturer on (Date) to (Name of Transferee) (Address of Transferee) \Box Check this box if vehicle is being sold for scrap. Name and Title of Manufacturer's Representative (print) Signature of Manufacturer's Representative Name and Title of Transferee's Representative (print) Signature of Transferee's Representative Date VERY IMPORTANT: At the time of each transfer of this vehicle, the transferor shall ensure that the transferee receives this Notice. PART III: TO BE COMPLETED AT THE TIME OF SALE OR LEASE OF THE VEHICLE TO THE ULTIMATE CONSUMER I understand this vehicle was reacquired by the manufacturer for the reason indicated above and that if I purchase or lease it, I will be given this original Notice, and not a copy. In addition to any other warranties that may come with this vehicle, the manufacturer warrants to correct the nonconformities indicated above for a term of one year or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs first, starting from: and I read the information on this Notice BEFORE I purchased or leased this vehicle. Today's Date Current Mileage Signature of Buyer or Lessee Name of Buyer or Lessee (print) Date Address of Buyer or Lessee (print) Name and Address of Seller or Lessor (print)

Name and Title of Seller's Representative (print)

Signature of Seller's or Lessor's Representative

Date

Within 30 days of the sale or lease of this vehicle to the ultimate consumer (see definition on reverse side), the seller or lessor must send a copy of this Notice to: Office of the Attorney General, Consumer Protection Division, Lemon Law Administration, 40 Capitol Square SW, Atlanta, GA 30334 or by email to LLDisclosureNotice@law.ga.gov

GEORGIA LEMON LAW NOTICE FOR REACQUIRED VEHICLES

INSTRUCTIONS

These instructions are to be printed on the reverse side of the GEORGIA LEMON LAW NOTICE FOR REACQUIRED VEHICLES. Any reproduction of this Notice shall have these instructions on the reverse side.

VERY IMPORTANT: This Notice applies to any reacquired vehicle (as defined below) that is <u>reacquired on or after January 1, 2009</u>, either: (A) under Georgia's Lemon Law; **OR** (B) under a similar statute of another state and transferred into Georgia.

The Notice is to be completed <u>legibly and accurately</u> and all copies must be legible. Copies of the Notice regarding the respective reacquisition, transfer and sale or lease of a reacquired vehicle are to be sent within the statutorily-required time period indicated below to:

Office of the Attorney General Consumer Protection Division, Lemon Law Administration 40 Capitol Square SW Atlanta, GA 30334

LLDisclosureNotice@law.ga.gov

Part I is to be *completely* filled out by the manufacturer or its representative following acceptance of a reacquired vehicle.

Check <u>both</u> the correct category space and box and, where applicable, fill in the blank to indicate the circumstances under which the vehicle was reacquired. **Part I-A** applies to reacquired vehicles covered under Georgia's Lemon Law. **Part I-B** applies to vehicles reacquired under a similar statute of another state that are transferred into Georgia.

List the nonconformity or nonconformities resulting in the repurchase or replacement of the vehicle <u>as alleged by the consumer or as found</u> <u>by an arbitrator or judge</u>. Do <u>not</u> write on the Notice that a nonconformity has been repaired or corrected.

When a vehicle covered under Georgia's Lemon Law is repurchased or replaced, the manufacturer or its representative is to sign and date Part I of the Notice and send a copy to the Georgia Department of Law-Consumer Protection Division within **30 days from the date of** *reacquisition of the vehicle*.

Part II is to be completed, signed and dated by the manufacturer or its representative upon transfer of a reacquired vehicle. Indicate the name and address of the transferee and have the transferee sign and date the Notice. The manufacturer or its representative is to give the original Notice to the transferee. If the vehicle was transferred to be sold for scrap, check the box.

If the reacquired vehicle is covered under Georgia's Lemon Law, the manufacturer or its representative has **30 days from the date of transfer of the vehicle** to send a copy of the Notice to the Georgia Department of Law-Consumer Protection Division. If the transfer occurs within 30 days of the date of reacquisition, Parts I and II can be sent together on the same copy at that time.

If the vehicle was reacquired under a similar statute of another state and transferred into Georgia, Parts I and II are to be completed together and the manufacturer or its representative is to send a copy of the Notice to the Georgia Department of Law-Consumer Protection Division within **30 days from the date of transfer of the vehicle**.

Part III - The selling or leasing entity must allow a prospective consumer the opportunity to read the Notice **BEFORE** the sale or lease of the reacquired vehicle. At the time of sale or lease, the seller's or lessor's representative is to indicate the name and address of the ultimate consumer; list the current mileage on the vehicle and the date of sale or lease; and, have the ultimate consumer sign and date the Notice.

The seller's or lessor's representative is to complete the rest of Part III; sign and date the Notice; and, give the original Notice to the ultimate consumer. The sale or lease of the vehicle activates the mandatory one year/12,000 mile (whichever occurs first) term within which the manufacturer warrants to correct the nonconformity or nonconformities indicated on the Notice.

The selling or leasing entity has **30 days from the sale or lease of the vehicle** to send a copy of the Notice to the Georgia Department of Law-Consumer Protection Division. The manufacturer has **90 days from the sale or lease of the vehicle** to notify the Georgia Department of Law-Consumer Protection Division that the statutory warranty has been activated. The manufacturer shall use the Georgia Department of Law-Consumer Protection Division's Reacquired Vehicle Warranty Activation Notice for this purpose.

DEFINITIONS

"Reacquired vehicle" means a new motor vehicle with an alleged nonconformity that has been replaced or repurchased by the manufacturer as the result of any court order or judgment, arbitration decision, voluntary settlement entered into between a manufacturer and the consumer, or voluntary settlement between a new motor vehicle dealer and a consumer in which the manufacturer directly or indirectly participated.

"Transfer" as used in connection with a reacquired vehicle means a change of ownership, by gift or any other means.

"Ultimate consumer" means the first person who purchases or leases a reacquired vehicle for purposes other than resale or sublease.