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WHAT’S THIS AND WHO’S IT FROM? 

The Governor’s Office of Consumer Protection, which previously distributed this newsletter, became part of the Georgia 

Attorney General’s office on July 1, 2015 and is now operating as the Georgia Department of Law – Consumer Protection 

Unit.  Though the name may have changed, our office’s purpose and function remain the same.  This newsletter continues to 

be part of our efforts to raise awareness among auto dealers and advertisers regarding the laws we enforce, including 

Georgia’s Fair Business Practices Act (FBPA), and this office’s Auto Advertising and Sales Practices Enforcement Policies 

(AAEP).  Expect to find discussions of common advertising issues, as well as additional explanation of the AAEP, and 

information regarding services we offer.   

 

PRICING REPRESENTATIONS: DEALER FEES, OPTIONS & DISCOUNTS 

By now, you should all know our policy about fees and 

pricing: Advertised vehicle prices must include all non-

government charges that a consumer is required to pay 

in order to purchase a vehicle, including but not limited 

to, dealer fees, previously installed dealer options, and 

electronic titling fees.  Only taxes, tag, title, and Lemon 

Law fees may be added to this price.  This pricing 

requirement extends to any advertised price in any 

medium, but most commonly becomes an issue on your 

dealer website or a third party site such as Autotrader.    

 

Additionally, advertised discounts must be accurate and 

non-misleading.  For example, it is deceptive to  

advertise a specific discount and then require consumers 

pay a host of additional costs that effectively diminish 

the discount you originally offered.    

Although this office’s pricing policies have been in 

effect for decades, we still regularly identify instances of 

non-compliance, particularly with dealers adding 

required charges to advertised prices at the time of 

purchase.  The following examples may be useful in 

your efforts to monitor your advertising. 

Dealer Fees: 

Suppose you charge an administrative fee of $500 and you want to list a car for $15,000.  Because your advertised price 

must include your dealer fee, you have effectively reduced the vehicle price to $14,500 to accommodate the dealer fee.  It 

is not acceptable to list a price of $15,000 and then add the additional $500 at the time of purchase.  Similarly, you may 

not include a disclaimer such as “price plus tax, tag, registration, and fees,” “plus government fees and a $500 dealer fee,” 

or any other disclosure which informs the consumer that she will be required to pay additional non-government charges 

upon purchase.   

A word on pricing disclosures: Keep in mind that your pricing disclosures may, but are not required to, contain a 

statement telling customers what is included in your pricing (e.g. “Price includes our dealer fee”).  You should indicate 

that the customer will be responsible for government fees (including applicable tax, title, tag, and Lemon Law). 

Dealer Installed Options: 

Violations of this office’s pricing policies can also occur with the use of dealer addendums and advertised discounts.  For 

example, you may have a dealer policy that all new vehicles receive a paint protection package and vehicle floor mats for 

an additional $1,000.  Because these options have already been installed, they are non-negotiable charges to your 

customer.  You also have a $500 dealer fee as in the previous example.  You cannot: List a “Sales Price” on your website, 

say for $26,000, and then add $1,500 to the price of the car when the consumer attempts to purchase it.  Rather, the “sales 
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price,” “internet price” or whatever name you use to describe the amount of money you are asking for your vehicle must 

be listed as $27,500. 

Why?  Because any dealer addendum charges must be included in the advertised vehicle price if 1) the options are already 

installed and/or 2) the options have not yet been installed but are a required condition of purchase.   

Discounts: 

Another pricing related issue involves advertising discounts.  To ensure uniformity and accuracy in advertising, all 

discounts for new vehicles should be taken from a vehicle’s MSRP.  This prevents a dealer from artificially creating 

enormous discounts by adding thousands of dollars’ worth of dealer added options.  For instance, a dealer may not take a 

vehicle with an MSRP of $20,000, add $10,000 worth of options to the vehicle and then advertise “$10,000 OFF!”  for a 

“sales price” of $20,000. While this may be an extreme example of deceptively inflated prices, discount issues also 

present themselves when properly referencing MSRP.   If, for example, a vehicle has an MSRP of $30,000 and you intend 

to sell it for $26,000 plus a required $1,500 in dealer fees and dealer options, you should not advertise a $4,000 discount.  

Why? Simply put, the consumer will be required to pay $27,500 for the vehicle.  The vehicle must be advertised at that 

price.  The proper discount then, is only $2,500, rather than $4,000.    

The key principal in pricing, whether focusing on additional fees or discounts, is to ensure that your customer is not 

quoted one price over the telephone, by email or through some other medium only to come to the store and be surprised 

with a host of additional required fees and charges.   As always, we encourage you to check your advertisements and 

properly train your staff to ensure complete understanding in this area.  This office regularly conducts undercover shops to 

ascertain advertising compliance.  If we find your dealership is violating our requirements in this area, we will take 

appropriate action. 

 

BAIT & SWITCH 

It is a specific violation of the FBPA (O.C.G.A. § 10-1-

393(b)(9)),  to advertise a vehicle that is unavailable 

and/or which the dealer has no intention of selling.  

While the classic illustration of “bait & switch” involves 

advertising a vehicle that will not or cannot be sold and 

then pushing the customer to a higher priced car, this 

issue presents itself in numerous variations.  

Consider, for instance, a dealer who sells a vehicle but 

fails to remove the corresponding vehicle advertisement 

from the dealership website.  Problems arise if a 

consumer then comes to the dealership after seeing the 

inaccurate advertisement. This issue is only compounded 

if the consumer first contacts the dealership to ask about 

the car before traveling to the dealership and the dealer 

misrepresents its availability.  Statements like the 

vehicle is “out on a test drive” or others which suggest 

the car is still available for sale when it is not are highly 

troublesome, particularly when a consumer then travels 

to a dealership to view the vehicle only to be told the car 

“just sold.”    Dealers can avoid these issues by ensuring 

that their staff members check the status of vehicles 

when asked so that accurate information is provided to 

customers. Dealers should also carefully monitor 

advertisements to ensure they are updated in a timely 

manner.  While we understand that advertisements are 

not updated the instant a vehicle is sold, failure to 

manage and remove dated advertisements can result in 

significant misrepresentations to consumers and possible 

FBPA violations.   

Failing to sell an “ad car” could also give rise to bait & 

switch concerns when a particular vehicle is repeatedly 

advertised over an extended period of time yet never 

sold.  If customers respond to an advertisement seeking 

the “ad car” and the dealer redirects them to another 

vehicle in an effort to keep the car and continue 

advertising it, the dealer may have violated the FBPA.  

Fair warning:  If we see that a dealer is repeatedly 

advertising the same vehicle at an especially attractive 

price, we may decide to conduct an undercover visit to 

ensure that it is still available and is actually being 

offered to consumers who express an interest in it. 
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DIRECT MAILERS 

Direct mailers are advertisements addressed to specific consumers which are generally mailed to their homes.  Examples 

of these types of advertisements include “scratch & win,” pre-approval, and special sales events advertisements.  

Obviously, we understand your need to bring consumers into your stores.  Be wary, however, of enticing buyers with 

offers that are potential violations of the FBPA.  Here are a few of the most common examples: 

1. Scratch & Win:  

 “Scratch & Win” advertisements typically ask consumers to scratch off a series of circles or shapes containing 

pictures and/or icons.  If the consumer uncovers a matching series of pictures, the consumer has won a prize.  

The consumer must then go to the dealership in order to claim the prize, which is generally determined by 

comparing the consumer’s mailer with “winning numbers” at the dealership.  Violations of the FBPA can 

arise when the shapes that are “scratched” reveal pictures of prizes which the consumer has not actually won.  

For instance, new vehicles are a common “grand prize” in these types of mailers for only one mailer recipient.  

It is problematic if every mailer recipient scratches off a picture of a car next to language telling him or her 

that they have won a prize.  Clearly, many consumers reasonably could believe that they have won the “grand 

prize” car, when only one consumer has actually done so. 

 Generally, these types of mailers will also qualify as promotions under GA law.  In a promotion, you may 

only offer noncash prizes.  Cash prizes, such as “grand prize” cash giveaways, are prohibited.   

o Are you conducting a promotion? Promotions, as defined by the FBPA, generally involve a sales 

scheme which requires consumers to come into the dealership in order to determine what prize the 

consumer is receiving.  The definition also includes other events, though these are not as common 

within the auto industry.  If conducting a promotion please refer to the AAEP and O.C.G.A. § 10-1-

392(a)(27), O.C.G.A. § 10-1-393(b)(16) and related provisions for information about the specific way 

in which these events must be advertised and conducted.  

2. Pre-Approval: 

 Some mailers offer consumers pre-qualified loan offers based on a prior evaluation of the consumer’s credit 

worthiness.  It is deceptive to tell these consumers they have qualified for a range of potential loan amounts, 

such as “up to $35, 000,” because consumers believe they will likely qualify for the largest advertised 

amount.  It is acceptable, however, to list a minimum amount for which all mailer recipients have actually 

been qualified.     

3. Special Sales Events: 

 These types of mailers generally include any type of advertisement that tells customers the dealership is 

offering deals, discounts, financing, etc. that are usually not available except during a special event or are 

limited to select customers.  Telling consumers to come into your dealership within the next 24 hours to 

receive a special deal is problematic, for example, if after 24 hours that deal will still be available.  Similarly, 

advertising that a sales opportunity will be made available only to mailer recipients (e.g. “Come into the store 

for this exclusive offer”) is deceptive if consumers other than those receiving the mailer are also given the 

advertised offers.  

 

THINGS YOU CAN’T SAY:  “We’ll pay off your trade no matter what you owe!”               
Why not?  Because consumers, particularly those who are upside down in their car payments, will hear this and think the 

dealer will be paying off their car’s loan.  In reality, the consumer is still responsible for the negative equity in their trade 

in vehicle and this statement suggests otherwise.    
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VEHICLE HISTORY REPORTS AND UNDISCLOSED DAMAGE 

 
If your dealership offers consumers Carfax reports or other documents containing vehicle history, keep in mind these 

reports can lag or not include all relevant history at any given time.  Dealers who use these reports can find themselves in 

potential violation of the FBPA, particularly if they know the report is inaccurate.  Consider the following scenario and 

example responses: 

 

Scenario: 

A consumer comes into your dealership, looks at a particular car, and asks if the vehicle has ever been in any car 

accidents.  You hand the consumer a copy of the Carfax and say something like, “Check the Carfax,” or “The 

Carfax doesn’t show any accidents.” You do not offer any other information. 

 

These Responses are Deceptive If: 

1. Example # 1 

 You know your salesman backed the car into a pole last week causing considerable damage to the bumper.  

You had the bumper replaced and instead of telling the consumer about this when asked, you hand him a copy 

of the Carfax which has no accidents reported. This response is deceptive because you know that the vehicle 

has been in an accident even though it was not reported to Carfax and thus will never show up in that report.  

Having answered the consumer’s question only by referring to the report, you have essentially said there was 

no accident when that is clearly untrue.  

2. Example # 2 

 You know that you purchased this car three weeks ago at auction where it was announced with frame/unibody 

damage.  You do not know how the vehicle was damaged. You also know that the Carfax does not have any 

accidents reported and does not reflect the auction announcement.  As with the previous example, you cannot 

simply hand the consumer a copy of a vehicle history report which suggests the car has not been damaged. 

3. Example # 3 

 You know that when you accepted this vehicle on trade last month, the owner told you she wrecked the car a 

few weeks earlier, but elected to pay for the damage out of pocket instead of report it to her insurance 

company.  You know the Carfax shows a car accident reported three years ago but clearly does not show the 

second accident that occurred just a month or two ago.  Given this knowledge, you cannot simply hand the 

consumer the report and allow him to believe the vehicle has only been involved in one accident when you 

know that it was involved in two.  

 

These are of course, only three examples of the possible deceptive misuse of vehicle history reports that may violate the 

FBPA.  To avoid violations, ensure that you and your staff are knowledgeable about your vehicles and do not use these 

reports as a shield to avoid commenting on known vehicle history.  

 
AD REVIEW  

This office offers a complimentary review service to help advertisers and dealers identify those areas that might violate the FBPA or 

related rules or laws.  We cannot approve any advertisements.  For direct mail ads, please allow 3 full business days (excluding 

weekends) for a review and response.  Other general advertisements will be reviewed within 2 full business days.   Email our 

advertising compliance investigator, Victor Hudson, at vhudson@law.ga.gov for advertising review. You may also contact Lauren 

Villnow, the assistant attorney general who assists in monitoring auto related issues, at lvillnow@law.ga.gov. Copies of the Fair 

Business Practices Act and the Auto Advertising and Sales Practices Enforcement Policies can be found on our website at   

www.consumer.georgia.gov.  
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